Sports Awards Criteria

 Award types:

1. Certificate – All teams

Criteria are:

* Not able to achieve a scroll award – normally junior players or players who have not played a full season of first team sport, but are still worthy of recognition.

* Attendance = 75%+

* Attitude = exemplary

* Effort = involved fully

* Sportsmanship = example to team and the rest of EHS in dress and bearing recognition.


2. First team ties

All 1st team players, in grade 10 to 12, who have played 50% of the seasons matches are awarded a 1st team certificate – this allows them to purchase a 1st team tie at the clothing store.


3. Scroll Awards

These are the prestige awards for sport at the school and have three levels: merit, colours & honours. A player has to be a member of a first team (grade 10 to 12) to be awarded these awards. Awards are made at the annual Sports Awards Dinners.

The Procedure for the Nomination of Scroll Awards

* Coach or team manager lists all team members

* Forms are completed assessing the sportsperson on their commitment to the team, achievements during the season and their sportsmanship

* All 1st team players who have played or were selected for over 75% of games for that season are eligible for a Merit award provided sportsmanship and commitment were of a high level

* Team players whose skills raise them above the rest of the team can be nominated for a Colours award at the discretion of the coach/manager

* Team players who are selected for an U18 provincial side in the sport are eligible for an Honours award

* These awards qualify pupils to purchase a scroll at the clothing store for their blazer

* All decisions are discussed and ratified by the Sports Awards Committee that meets at the end of each season

* Criteria may be adapted at the discretion of the Sports Awards Committee

Some sports require minimum qualifications to be achieved:

* Cross Country

* Cycling

* Mountain Biking

* Road Running

* Swimming